top of page

Today I Painted My Nails


Hey family. How's everyone doing??? I have to say it wasn't until this past weekend when I listened to the white house briefing *which I never listen to but last Saturday I decided to tune in* and heard the words April 30th as the new self quarantine extension... my heart sank. I cried. Scientists and doctors have predicted another flu pandemic would arise but I didn't think now... maybe 30-40 years from now but not now in this present moment. The uncertainty is getting to me a bit BUT I know that God is in control! Through the madness there is a bigger plan for good, just keep the faith.

In the meantime we can't sit in sadness either! I "styled my ass at home" and had the time of my life... doing my minimal makeup, the staging, the styling and taking the photos... it was so fun and I felt completely in my element because this is what I love to do. AND want to know what else I did???

I painted my nails. 💅🏾 *I know the title of the blog post completely gave it away lol*

Story time 👉🏾 I used to paint my nails all the time... well once I finally stopped biting them *if you’re a nail biter like I was live in any big city with public transportation for a good year or two and you’re nails will all of a sudden flourish. For me that big city was NYC in 2015. Between taking public transportation and being on the underground trains... my nails flourished lbvs* but anyway it felt so good to get back to my old hobby! My nail colors were inspired by my love for pastels this fashion season and Easter! #ItsNotCancelledSis

When I paint my nails I feel patient, calm, at ease... it also allows me to strive for perfection and accuracy especially when I’m painting my right hand. It’s honestly one form of therapy that I’ve lost track of over the past 6 months but being in club quarantine has allowed me to get back to it.

So I say that to say this... find whatever it is you love to do and do it for you. ✨ Doing what you love won't take the unfortunate circumstances that are happening around us away BUT it'll honestly make you feel sooooo good. It's an opportunity to reconnect with some old hobbies that you truly enjoy and to be present and live in that moment.

That's all I have! This one was a short one however I wanted to take a moment to connect with you all.

In the craziness of it all keep your spirits high, laugh often, love unconditionally and be unapologetically dope cause you are boo!

Stay safe and until next time,

-K


bottom of page