top of page

My Top 10 Apps While Social Distancing


Hello and welcome back friends! I hope you all enjoyed my latest blog post on my "Top 5 Amazon Picks for Spring Fashion"! If you missed it no worries just click here. In the words of my bestie, "It's still Spring and it's still fashion season."

As promised this next post is all about apps and activities that can keep us busy and connected while practicing social distancing. From fun games, to meditation and fitness, to cooking and to group chats, I hope I've gathered a wide range of options that will keep ourselves and our loved ones entertained while maintaining the connectedness that all of us as humans need.

Before we jump into that I mentioned in my last post how important it is to make a to do list. I am a to do list guru. I love lists especially when my life is on the go very often. I know there's apps for organizing and list making but I have to see bullet points and have them listed in order of priority. Now being quarantined and my everyday life is some what at a pause, I have found it even more important if not the most important to make a to do list in times like these. It keeps me motivated, gives me something to look forward to and at the end of the day I can say I accomplished something. Now this isn't something you have to practice every day while in quarantine but Monday through Friday I have found this skill set very useful. Now my #WFH starts this week however the week prior my to do lists would look something like this...

Wednesday 3.18

  • Cook breakfast (because I don't cook for real, I HAVE to see this to get "cooking" done lol)

  • Respond to emails

  • Create April content

  • Workout

  • Nap

  • Braid Jay's hair

  • Video Chat family and friends

  • Organize styling room/office

  • Quarantine and chill

That simple! I have been talking to my girl friends and even things like getting dressed and doing your hair and makeup really helps too! Now onto my next thing... NETFLIX!

You may have seen that Neflix along with so many others are finding ways to stream shows and movies with friends while social distancing. Well just in case you had missed it I have streamlined the step by step process on how you can make this happen with your peeps.

Next up... Business of Fashion!! If you haven't heard of this fashion publication, Business of Fashion is fashion news, analytics and business intelligence from an authoritative and analytical point of view. I learned about Business of Fashion while in grad school in NYC. I immediately subscribed and I love it. It keeps me connected to the fashion industry on a high intelectual level other than whats trending from season to season. One day I was checking my emails and I was invited to BOF Professionals Live: The State of Fashion! What is this??? This a live video discussion and masterclass where you have the opportunity to sit with industry leading professionals, have discussions, and get your questions about the industry answered! You can also connect with BOF member from around the world. All you have to do is become a BOF professional member then...

So to all my fashion peeps, business owners, buyers, stylists, marketing gurus, this is for you! And it's FREE!!! Wow... I completely had to share this one! Best believe I signed up for a class on Wednesday! Sessions are also an hour long so it won't fill up too much space in your busy quarantine schedule lol.

Alright the moment you've all been waiting for... "My Top 10 Apps While Social Distancing"! Lets start with the fun stuff...

Games

1. Uno!

Most people love a good card game and this is the perfect time to have a little family/friend competition. What I love about this app is that you can connect and play with anyone from around the world! Just make sure your friend or family member has downloaded the app! You can "buddy up" and create teams and you can play classic UNO! or use house rules.

Like UNO! in this game you can also challenge your family and friends as long as they have the app! The best part is that you can chat and send stickers while you're playing. Customize your dice and get rolling!

Enter the world of “Game of Games,” where you can play fun trivia games against real players, just like the games on Ellen’s TV show “Game of Games”! Not sure if you have seen this TV show but it's pretty entertaining to watch. This game is more of a solo pass time but fun none the less.

Now I know most of you have either played this game or you have heard of this game! When I was in color guard on weekends we had nothing but our phones. We had the best time playing this game. It's like charades! You hold the phone to your head while your family or friends act out or say clues as to what word/phrase could be on your screen. FYI this app does cost 99 cents but it's so worth it!

This app is a brain training app that has over 35 games for cognitive skills such as memory, focus, processing, math, precision and comprehension. The more you train the more your skills improve over a period of time! Why not flex those muscles while you're stuck in the house!?

Meditation

If the phrase "stress less" were a person... I LOVE this app. A good blogger friend of mine told me about Headspace almost 2 years ago and wow it's done wonders. If you're stressed about our current state globally, having trouble sleeping at night or you simply enjoy meditation this app is for you.

Fitness

No gym, no problem and no equipment necessary. What I love about this app is that you can be at any level in your fitness journey and still feel like you got a good sweat in. This app also isolates different muscle groupings so if you just want to focus on your glutes that can be your target focus. Just a few minutes a day can help you still achieve that #HotGirlSummer body.

Cooking

Now ya'll know I don't cook lol... but when I cook I go all out and it actually tastes pretty good so I've heard lol... BUT I wouldn't be successful without my cooking apps! The best parts about Food Network Kitchen is that you can take virtual cooking classes, cook live with an expert or friends and ask questions in real time! So if you have that one dish you've been meaning to give a try use this app with the support of an expert or even better phone a friend through the app.

Group Chats

House Party is a group social app that alerts you as soon as a loved one arrives in their home or as soon as they open they app. From there you can jump right into the party! You can play games and share screens with each other as well as connect with your friends, friends. I see why they call this app House Party!

If you're in the gaming community this is for you! It's a voice and text chat for gamers. This app also allows you to upload videos, emojis and gifs. The biggest take away is that you can create a community. You can create communities from 5-500,000 and all you have to do is assign admin roles to certain members. Pretty cool right!?

Those are my top 10!

Now have I tried every single one of these apps??? Nah. Did I do extended research to make sure they were the bomb??? Yup! Will I be trying some of these because as I was typing I was so hype about what the app does??? Hell yes! Jay and I are actually going to play heads up tomorrow!! I'm super competitive as is he so this one on one match up should be very interesting lol.

All of the app names are linked for iOS! So you can click and download! Sorry Android users... #SorryToThisMan

I hope this helps and that you find some positive energy and hope in all of this. Keep on keeping on and I will be seeing you all next time on the blog!

-K


bottom of page